Dress Success!

Monday, June 1, 2009 at 2:00 am 27 comments

I’ve heard that clothes make the man.  If you’ve read How Do You Dress an 11 Year Old, then you are familiar with my epic struggle to find a fifth grade graduation dress for my daughter.  The 8 am graduation requires an elegant, yet simple dress – not as formal as an evening event would require.  And guess what?  We found one.  What a relief !  Now we can abandon the toga I was fashioning out of old bed linens.

Having failed at finding a dress with sleeves it was time to get creative.   (Sleeves are strictly required by the school dress code -who said public schools have no standards?)  We made the rounds to our usual stores and went through the usual kid disillusionment coupled with mother frustration.   It was sort of like Aladdin taking Princess Jasmine on a magic carpet ride, and Princess Jasmine saying “Don’t you have a nicer carpet!?”  Joyfully, things started to turn around. 

First we happened upon a white denim bolero (mini jacket) with little shiny rhine stones – so cute.   This allowed us to look at sleeveless dresses.  It’s funny how sometimes the usual stores that you have success with, just don’t have anything suitable when you’re in a pinch.  Then, out of desperation, you go to a store that frequently has nothing of interest to you and voila!  There it is! 

We found this cute little spaghetti strap number that was simple, elegant,  and with the bolero, age appropriate.  Luckily the combination of dress and bolero didn’t break the bank.  I spent a few dollars more than I had planned, but I’m glad we got something that she likes.

A BIG thank you to all my blogging buddies who left comments of encouragement and advice!…Oh no! I forgot about the shooooooooooes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If I loose a few dress sizes, do you think she’ll let me borrow it?

Dress without bolero

 

Dress with bolero

 

PS:  If you happen to be in the market for a bolero, I found this one at Limited Too and the dress is from Sears.

Entry filed under: Children, Education, Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Parenting. Tags: , , .

How Do You Dress an 11 Year Old? The Anatomy of Spam

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. In love with my life  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 2:37 am

    Congrats on finding the dress… Now you can start to search one for yourself:-))

    Even if you lose a couple of sizes, would she let you borrow that dress? is the big Q.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 7:23 am

      Based on the odds of me loosing a few dress sizes…I guess we’ll never know 😉

      Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 7:55 am

    this is adorable! 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 8:20 am

      Thanks, we were really happy when we found it.

      Reply
  • 5. Meluhhan  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 9:06 am

    Gorgeous. It’s perfect for summer! I want one like it too. 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 9:16 am

      Thanks, my other daughter liked it so much, I got her one too.

      Reply
  • 7. Jax  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 9:10 am

    It’s beautiful. Good luck with the shoes.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 9:15 am

      Thank you. By the way, isn’t bare foot back in style?

      Reply
  • 9. Just a Mom  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 9:33 am

    Congrats on finding the dress! I love it too!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 10:07 am

      Thanks, I can sleep a little easier now.

      Reply
  • 11. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Gorgeous. She will look great at her graduation. When is it ? Congrats to her on making it to Middle school 😉

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 10:06 am

      Thanks a bunch. Grad day is Wednesday!

      Reply
  • 13. Doraz  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Era, you did good!
    Have fun with shopping!
    🙂

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 11:02 am

      Thanks, we’re relieved and happy. Things were looking a little bleak for a while.

      Reply
  • 15. starlaschat  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Very cute dress! I especially like the white sweater cover, you call it a bolero? Very cute! Hope you have a wonderful time.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 3:08 pm

      Thanks Starla. I’m always poking fun at how many graduations there are in kid’s lives nowadays, but at the ceremony I’ll probably be fighting back the tears.

      Reply
  • 17. Tony  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    She will look very nice in it I’m sure. If I lose a few dress sizes do you think she’ll let me borrow it????

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 5:34 pm

      LOL – get in line, Tony. I saw it first!

      Reply
  • 19. Raji  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    What a relief! It is beautiful! It is amazing how the bolero totally transforms the look. Funny, you found it at Sears 🙂 you really did find ‘the softer side of Sears’ !

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 6:40 pm

      That’s funny, lol – “the softer side of Sears” 🙂 . I haven’t thought of that ad campaign in years.

      Reply
  • 21. Joy  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    Awesome and so darling. I hope it all goes well for her.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 9:00 pm

      Thanks Joy. I can’t believe she’s going to middle school already.

      Reply
  • 23. emma  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    that is sooooo cute! and very tasteful!

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 9:04 pm

      Thanks Emma. Now what will I wear? Don’t worry, I’ll spare you from that post!

      Reply
  • 25. Mom Gone Mad  |  Tuesday, June 2, 2009 at 3:53 am

    Lovely, Era. Well done!

    BTW, this was for Heather, right?

    Reply
  • 26. Mom Gone Mad  |  Tuesday, June 2, 2009 at 3:54 am

    And yes.. what will you wear? 🙂 (just in case you’re not stressed enough already)

    Reply
    • 27. Era  |  Tuesday, June 2, 2009 at 6:44 am

      1. Thanks Shal, the fact the she is happy is a big bonus. She’s no longer “tom boyish” but still not an over the top “frill seeker”. She probably gets that from me.
      2. Yes, it’s for Heather.
      3. Thanks for rubbing that in! If all I can find is a burlap sack, I will simply relegate myself to cheering her on from the shadows. I’ll think of something 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

