How Do You Dress an 11 Year Old?

Friday, May 29, 2009 at 2:00 am 32 comments

I’ve been looking for a dress for my daughter’s fifth grade graduation.  I don’t know if it’s the “off season”, but in most stores I can’t find any dresses and when I do… it seems like there are very  few choices out there. 

  1. The frilly, cotton candy, Easter parade dress which screams:  it’s Spring !!!
  2. Every once in a while we find a beautiful and simple dress that doesn’t have sleeves.  The school dress code requires sleeves for the graduation ceremony!  None of the dresses I’ve seen so far have sleeves!
  3. Then there’s the cotton dress made of legging material that says this is great for lounging around the house or a casual day of hanging at the mall with my girlfriends.
  4. Not to be outdone, there’s the little strapless tafetta number just begging for a chance to attend the senior prom, and
  5. The occasional hoochie mama number with the saucy split up to there.  She’s 11 not 30.

Now that I think about it, I can’t dress myself either!  I’m too tall for petite sizes, too short for misses sizes, and nothing ever fits right.  I don’t do dresses.  Do I need to become a seamstress now?  I never seem to have these problems with my son!  

 And furthermore, what’s with all these graduations?  When I was in school, we graduated from middle school and twelfth grade.  That was it.  Now there’s pre-school graduation, kindergarten graduation, fifth grade graduation,  eigth grade graduation, highschool graduation… The next thing you know, there’ll be a “I remembered to turn in my homework” graduation!

This is a pretty dress but

  1. It has no sleeves and
  2. She says it’s too frilly at the bottom.  Doesn’t matter – I can’t find anything like it in the local stores so far.  Wish me happy shopping!

pretty dress

What am I to do?  Any suggestions on the dress situation?

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Parenting. Tags: , .

I Need Your Help… Dress Success!

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom Gone Mad  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 6:35 am

    This was a pretty dress! Pity she can’t use it.

    Why don’t you check out a Sasha-Malia kinda web store? Those kids are always so damn impeccable. Where do they shop?

    Google, Era, google!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 6:43 am

      Ummm, sweet little girls indeed but I have trouble spending more than $40 on something that gets worn once and then is soon outgrown – unless there is some new stimulus package for this sort of thing :D. I never buy anything for them without trying on first – otherwise usually ends in disaster. Hence overall reluctance towards mail order.

      Reply
      • 3. Raji  |  Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 12:03 am

        Here is a stimulus package: if it is really a super duper dress, I will buy it off you for $20 🙂 and use it in a few years. There ya go, outlay for you only $20. Does that make you feel better?!

        Reply
        • 4. Era  |  Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 1:17 am

          Hmmm…that sounds promising… 😉

          Reply
  • 5. cindy  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 6:56 am

    my mom has this same problem when shopping for my 8 year old sister…some dresses are way to cutesy for my sister and some are just, oh how shall i say this, just plain ol’ skanky.

    The dress above is real cute though… 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 7:02 am

      I like the dress too and I could persuade her to wear it, but the sleeve policy rules it out. It almost seems that they don’t make dresses for girls with sleeves. And now I can’t find a little bolero or jacket to put over it to save my life! Good thing our lives don’t depend on this one.

      Reply
      • 7. cindy  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 8:39 am

        i couldn’t even find a nice modest bolero to wear over my wedding dress! I HATE showing my arms! If you DO happen to find one, it would probably cost forty dollars on its own. Maybe a seamstress could add sleeves to a dress that you like, but don’t want to buy because it is sleeveless? I have heard of them doing this before…I couldn’t tell you how much it costs though…

        Reply
        • 8. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 9:19 am

          You’re right, boleros are quite costly. I don’t mind a sleeveless dress, it’s just the school policy. I didn’t think of looking for a seamstress and now the date is fast approaching so it might be a little too late. You know what I’m going to be doing today and all this weekend – DRESS SHOPPING!

          Reply
        • 9. norrel  |  Saturday, November 14, 2009 at 10:03 am

          you know you an find bolero at davids bridal

          Reply
          • 10. Era  |  Saturday, November 14, 2009 at 10:48 pm

            I never thought of checking a bridal shop. Thanks for the tip and thanks for visiting my blog.

            Reply
  • 11. maidinmalaysia  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 8:31 am

    i dunno abt the dresses. but what are you wearing for “i remembered to blog for the day” graduation?

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 9:25 am

      LOL! But now that you mentioned it, what am I going to wear???? Suddenly I’m short of breath and becoming cold and clammy! I haven’t even thought about what I’m going to wear – to the fifth grade graduation. Jeans are appropriate for the “I remembered to blog for the day” graduation. Now I’m going to have to do a post about how I can’t find a decent pair of jeans.

      Reply
  • 13. Meluhhan  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Aw, I wish I could help there…hope you finally find something!:)

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 9:14 am

      Thanks Meluhhan. If I don’t find something, she probably won’t talk to me until she’s forty!

      Reply
  • 15. Just a Mom  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:28 am

    I feel your pain! Does it have to be a dress or would a cute skirt and blouse work? That has been the solution in our house.

    If you have any second-hand clothing stores around you you could probably find a cute dress or bolero there.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 5:51 pm

      I should have blogged about this earlier. You guys have such good suggestions! Yes a skirt and blouse are a good solution. That is usually how I go for myself, but my “Little Miss” has not seen any that she likes…yet.

      Reply
  • 17. Doraz  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Fifth grade graduation! Wow! Congrats! I remember when my sons graduated! It was a very special time. The girls all wore a range of dresses. They were set limits. The school did not want the parents going overboard and having the girls be too showy! So, I would pick a dress she can wear, more than once! She has to be happy with it, too! Have fun looking! 🙂

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 5:47 pm

      The search is half the fun, right? Thanks Doraz, you’ve reminded me that this should be a wonderful time and not a stressed out where’s-the-dress-a-thon.

      Reply
  • 19. Joy  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I know what you mean about all this “graduating.” I almost wonder if all this “overdoing” it will make the “real” graduation seem less than the really big deal it is. I can see “maybe” Kindergarten and “maybe” middle school but all the other is a bit over the top for me. It’s supposed to mean something and I think by doing it for all these grades, it makes it somehow less important to the kids. They come to “expect” it.

    That dress is darling but I know what you mean about there’s nothing “in between.” I was at my granddaughters choir concert a few weeks ago and it was grades 3-12. The kids looked really nice but there were the “queen bee’s” who looked like they were going some kind of grand ball. Then there were the kids who looked like they were going to the corner bar afterwards and then the ones who looked like they were going to milk cows! Very all over the place. My granddaughter wore her Easter dress but my daughter in law found a very cute sweater type thing that went over the top and it looked like it was a skirt. Everyone was happy and the granddaughter felt like she had a new outfit and she looked very lady like.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 5:44 pm

      Hats off to creative moms! That was a great idea your daughter in law had.

      Reply
  • 21. wordjunkie  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Absolutely nothing useful to say, except all the best with the shopping.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 5:42 pm

      That encouragement alone is worth the world to me. Thank you!

      Reply
  • 23. Camille  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Resale shops! People are spring cleaning and getting rid of winter clothes (think SLEEVES)!

    Another idea: wear a sleeved shirt under a sleeveless dress, maybe sleeves in a sheer fabric so it won’t be too hot.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 5:41 pm

      You are brilliant!!! Thanks for the tips.

      Reply
  • 25. starlaschat  |  Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    When I was a kid, LOL we didn’t have a 5th grade graduation, you just moved up a grade no hoop la. Funny how things change. I hope you find just the right dress!

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 4:39 pm

      Thanks, I’ll keep you posted! At this point I’m desperately optimistic.

      Reply
  • 27. keli  |  Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    iiim graduation 5th grade and i am really havin trouble finding another dress i hav one but i need another one for graduation because i have prom and graduation and i already have my 2 flats and one dress but i just cant find another dress and it is annooyin cuz my mom wants a dress to be 50 $ and under and its hard to find a pretty dress for 50$ can anybody give a website for dresses 50$ or underrr and i really need a little jacket for the dress cause its a scholl policy that if it is with straps it has to have a little jacket and it sucks cause we are goin to be hot and ima do ma hair blown out…NO i AM NOT A NERD I JUST KNOW HOW TO SPELL

    Reply
    • 28. Era  |  Wednesday, June 10, 2009 at 7:51 pm

      Limited Too and Justice for girls have the little jacket and the dresses at Sears were very affordable – even by Mom’s standards. Good luck on clothes shopping and congratulations on your graduation!

      Reply
  • 29. Kristina  |  Monday, September 28, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    im in 5th grade and I also do need a dress for my Fifth grade graduation and dance I need help too!!!

    Reply
    • 30. Era  |  Monday, September 28, 2009 at 1:43 pm

      Hi Kristina. First of all congratulations on being in fifth grade. I’m sure you’ll be beautiful at the graduation. Good look with the dress search.

      Reply
  • 31. Brandi Roller  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 2:16 am

    I did not read all your comments, so this may have already been suggested. But they have sweet little button up sweaters like cardigans now to cover up the sleeve situation. I have a daughter and we go threw the same problem with every dress. I bought a white, black, and red sweater so that she could wear her dresses.

    Reply
    • 32. Era  |  Monday, March 15, 2010 at 7:59 am

      Thanks Brandi. A few posts later I did post a picture of the dress and a bolero that we found as a sleeve cover up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

