I Need Your Help…

Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:00 am 45 comments

map of the U.S.Don’t be alarmed – I’m just seeking your opinion.  Due to the ongoing economic downturn, it may become necessary for our family to move.  Yes, I know, it breaks my heart too.  At this very moment some of you might be saying “I hope they don’t end up in our neighborhood”  while others of you can’t wait to see us go…  I’m just kidding.  I mean, who wouldn’t want me for a neighbor?!  Am I right?! … Right? … Hello?  Anybody there?

Anyway, all kidding aside, the Sundar clan may be on the move.  And that’s why I need your help.  If you had to move, which city would you choose?  Please take a moment to complete the poll below.  This poll is open to everyone.  It doesn’t matter if you’ve been to any of these cities or not.  Frankly, it doesn’t matter if you’ve been to the U.S. or not.  I just want your input.  Yes, your opinion matters.

The choices are Austin, Texas; Atlanta, Georgia; and Chicago, Illinois.  Before you take the poll, here are my thoughts.

Obviously I would prefer to stay in Florida.  After all, there’s no place like home.  Despite the occasional hurricane, yearly hurricane preparedness drills,  frequent thunder storms which never seem to correct the constant drought conditions, a reputation as the lightening strike capital of the United States, and gnat swarms that rival a plague of locusts – what location could be better?

There’s sunshine when the rest of the country is freezing.  We live next to Mickey Mouse and the space shuttle program.  The median age of 75 makes it possible to have dinner by 4pm in almost every restaurant and all the oranges you can eat are free – actually, I made up the free oranges part.

Austin, Texas:  The live music capital of the United States.  They won’t threaten to secede if I move over there, will they?  There is a reason you haven’t heard me sing.

Atlanta, Georgia:  Home of the Coca Cola factory,  CNN and CNN Headline News.  Do you think CNN needs another news anchor?  I’m a big talker… if someone else provides the script.

Chicago, Illinois:   The home of deep dish pizza.  I’ve always wanted to try deep dish pizza.  I am a bit concerned about the weather, though.  Did I mention that I start loosing consciousness at temperatures below 60 degrees Fahrenheit?    If you haven’t guessed yet, I’m  a cold-a-phobic.

OK, now on to the poll.  The poll is open to everyone, even those of you who stumbled upon this blog while Googling help wanted ads (you know, based on the title).

PS: Please leave a comment with the reason for your choice.  I’d really like to hear from you.  Yes, you!  If you read this post months after it’s debut, still vote.  It’s a big decision and it’s gonna take time.

 

(U.S. map from here, other pictures from here, here, and here)

Entry filed under: Career, Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Travel. Tags: , , .

Sleep Tight…Don’t Let the Bedbugs Bite!!! How Do You Dress an 11 Year Old?

45 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maidinmalaysia  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 5:46 am

    i chose austin for its music.
    i am not a big cnn fan or a pizza fan shallow ones or deep ones or even holey ones. so…

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 6:21 am

      No pizza? I’d eat too much of it anyway! Thanks MiM.

      Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Atlanta is pretty nice. stay away from chicago if you can’t stand cold at all. lol i live in NY, so im used to it…

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 8:02 am

      Yeah, the cold is a kicker. Unfortunately I’m not sure I can give the cold as much consideration as possible job security. Last Christmas we tried to take the kids ice skating in Bryant Park in NY (I think it’s Bryant or a name close to that). Anyway, by the time we parked the car and walked over there, we were a bunch of human popsicles and had to nix those plans. I’m such a wimp when it comes to cold. But you get used to it, right?????????

      Reply
      • 5. cindy  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:54 am

        i suppose you get used to it, but I still haven’t. I really hate the cold…the only thing that keeps me here is my family…

        Reply
        • 6. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:41 pm

          Being with family definitely helps.

          Reply
  • 7. Camille  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 8:56 am

    You can guess I’d choose Austin! (Well, since I live there, it’d be sad if I didn’t.) I lived in Nebraska for several years, which has similar weather to Chicago’s, and if you’re a cold-a-phobe like me, I wouldn’t recommend it. Yes, there’s a ton of cultural stuff to do, and it’s easy to travel to either coast, but man, it’s COLD!

    Here’s a glimpse into a typical spring day for us: http://theeclecticmom.blogspot.com/2009/04/zen-of-laundry.html

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 9:04 am

      Thanks Camille, I’ll check out the link.

      Reply
  • 9. nat  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 9:23 am

    cold is something you get used to – I was wearing sweaters well into april AND May when I first came here to NY. But now pshah! I can go put in 35degree fahrenheit weather and feel nothing (just to keep the trash out and run back in ie!!!) but I think I’d stay on the East coast. (ur closer to Florida then???) But it took me over a year or so to get used to the cold. lotsa nasonex, vicks n stuff too…
    whatever I saw of Atlanta was pretty empty (for a New Yorker I guess) I know there are some awesome places for kids and good universities (the engineer might second that).
    i think I’d move to Austin. Big hair and all not being a big deal n all. I’d fit right in. lol.
    naaah. chicago i guess.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:27 pm

      I’m glad to hear that there is hope for me in getting used to the cold. You also raise a good point about remaining close to Florida. It would be fun to break out the hairspray and go big, though. Or should I say high?

      Reply
  • 11. Jax  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Austin, TX. Some really nice people live there and it is warm in November. There is a lot of traffic but that’s everywhere. Atlanta is another good choice. Like South Florida, it should be easy to find specialty food items. And many really nice people live there also. It may get colder than Austin, though.
    PS I knew I should have visited you the last time I was in Florida. ):

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:29 pm

      Don’t worry, you can visit me where ever I roam. Nice people is definitely a big plus in any relocation plan!

      Reply
  • 13. Joy  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:19 am

    I picked Chicago just because I live in Minnesota now and I love winter. Not just winter but I like the changing seasons. The only bad thing I can think of about Chicago are the Bears. Quite the rival for our Vikings. Good luck to you and your family.

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:32 pm

      Thanks Joy. You know, we used to live in Ft. Eustis, Virginia when I was a girl and my favorite season has always been autumn. The changing seasons are something we miss in Florida. My kids love the snow and are always buggin us to take them somewhere cold for the winter. I wonder how they’ll feel about snow when the have to go to the bus stop in it? Now that they’re older, they’ll be the ones shovelling the driveway :). Or at least that’s what I think.

      Reply
  • 15. S. Le  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:22 am

    I’d choose Chicago from those selections. I really don’t like the other two cities or the deep South in general. It’s mostly because of the weather. If possible I’d never let the temperature get above 75 or the humidity either. I need it to be cool.

    Good luck to you and your family in this important decision. It will be difficult.

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:35 pm

      Thanks S.Le. Ideally, if I could find a place that kept a steady 75 degrees Fahrenheit all year round, that would be paradise!

      Reply
  • 17. Nelia  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 10:28 am

    I know, I know. It ain’t one of the prescribed choices. But what about Denver? Re more practical considerations (e.g. job opportunities, cost of living), Denver is managing economic downturn fairly well and better than most.

    Re sun. Denver has over 300 days of shine.

    Besides, since we’re digital twins, we might as well live in the same city.

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:38 pm

      Nelia, I’ve been to Denver once, and it was the most amazing and beautiful experience! But, being so high up and all, is it really cold in the winter? I know, I’ve got to suck it up as far as the cold-a-phobia goes. If I’m in Denver, I hope we can hang out some time 🙂 .

      Reply
      • 19. Nelia  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 6:34 pm

        No need to do any sucking up where Denver is concerned. Hank doesn’t do cold. Period. And Denver is the best kind of hot. The no-humidity-typically-in-the-80s kind of hot. During the winter you might experience the occasional chill. But without humidity, it rarely has any bite.

        Go ahead, Era. Just add Denver to your list.

        Reply
        • 20. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 7:10 pm

          Food for thought!

          Reply
  • 21. Just a Mom  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Being from Texas myself I voted for Austin. One of the best things about Texas is that there is no state income tax. In my opinion the cost of living is better here in Texas compared to other states.

    I think I stumbled onto your blog from Doraz blog. Nice site you have.

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      Nice to meet you Just a Mom. The absence of state income tax is an excellent point! We’ll absolutely keep that in mind.

      Reply
  • 23. Doraz  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I would check into the price of homes, the schools, the community, and the weather. Texas is close to CA where I live now! What state are you leaning towards?

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 6:01 pm

      You make excellent points. Being a creature of habit and subject to inertia I’d be happy to stay put. Right now I am in freaking out and denial mode. I’ll keep you all posted when I start leaning.

      Reply
  • 25. starlaschat  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    I have never been any of those places so it’s hard for me to vote for some reason I said Texas but to be honest I have no idea. I hope the best decision comes to you and your Family.

    Reply
    • 26. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 7:04 pm

      Thanks Starla. The fact that you took the time to vote means a lot to me!

      Reply
  • 27. June  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Austin. I have never been there, but HBO tells me its warm there and houses are big 🙂 I am sure you will make a lovely home no matter where you move.

    Reply
    • 28. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 5:52 am

      I like big houses. Thanks June.

      Reply
  • 29. Mom Gone Mad  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Egads! You have to relocate? As a much moved around kid, I’m already bleeding a little for your li’l uns. Hopefully they are adaptable.

    But, girrl. Go for the sun. Take it from me, you don’t wanna be where you’re gonna freeze your pretty hiney off. And I live near enough the North Pole to be informed. Popsicles are more fun in warm weather!

    I voted Atlanta. tis warm no? never been to any of these places though!

    Reply
    • 30. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 6:46 am

      You are right about the sun! We made one move when I was 7 years old and I cried for two years and never fit in. Perhaps that explains some of my reluctance. Hopefully these kids are smarter and more adaptable than I was.

      Reply
  • 31. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I Vote Austin. Would mean we can meet more often 😉
    Ofcourse I would love to have you guys for a neighbor… am sure you are not making it to my neck of the woods in this lifetime. So Austin is a good choice ! Good luck with the decision making. Moving with the family is always very hard, not the physical move, but the emotional changes that come with the move. Especially with the kids growing up. We are here, if you need to talk about anything !Just a phone call away…. and who knows if you are in Austin by August, we could even meet ! 😉

    Reply
    • 32. Era  |  Friday, May 29, 2009 at 10:18 am

      Meeting you and the family more often is definitely a plus for Austin! How the kids handle it is definitely my biggest concern. But like I’ve said before, hopefully they are smarter and better able to adjust than I was a their ages.

      Reply
  • 33. Nitya  |  Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Brr. Anywhere not too cold is where I did go. Wherever you choose, wish you and your family the best of luck. And hope the new place brings you many things to be happy about!
    Anf if wordpress swallos my comment this time, I think I will just write to you from my blog!

    Reply
    • 34. Era  |  Saturday, May 30, 2009 at 7:28 am

      Thank you so much for the kind wishes. Sometimes wordpress does funny things, doesn’t it? I’ve had a few run ins with it myself.

      Reply
  • 35. Tony  |  Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 5:11 am

    Boy, I’m so glad Tasmania’s not on the list, wouldn’t want them moving here Tasmania is a nice place, why isn’t it on the list???

    Reply
    • 36. Era  |  Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 9:03 am

      LOL! It is my goal to visit Australia some day so don’t count us out yet.

      Reply
  • 37. Tony  |  Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 5:13 am

    I voted for Atlanta , Georgia. Never been there, dunno what it’s like but that’s just the way ‘Eeny Meeny Miney Moe’ played out

    Reply
  • 38. Tony  |  Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 5:17 am

    Atlanta has Coca-Cola, Chicago has bad men with Machine Guns.
    You have to decide which is more dangerous for your family, lottsa Coke or Machine Guns.
    Hmmm…
    That’s a tough one….

    Reply
    • 39. Era  |  Sunday, May 31, 2009 at 9:06 am

      I’m getting ready to do my own version of eeny meeny miney moe! We girls tend to like bad boys with big guns so…

      Reply
  • 40. Eric Richardville  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 1:19 am

    I know you will make the right decision but Illinois is beautiful. Just throwing that out there.

    Reply
    • 41. Era  |  Monday, June 1, 2009 at 6:31 am

      Thanks Eric. I’ve always wanted to visit Chicago, I just never thought I might live there 🙂

      Reply
  • 42. Lakshmi  |  Thursday, June 4, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I love Austin and Chicago – lived in Austin and visited Chicago. Love love love Austin for the lifestyle and the people. Jani will fit in perfectly – miss cloth bag.

    Good luck with the decision making – it must be tough.. you know you are always welcome to be our neighbor.

    Reply
    • 43. Era  |  Thursday, June 4, 2009 at 6:03 pm

      We would love to be your neighbor.

      Reply
  • 44. M  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Found your blog from kitkattwins…read occasionally, and you did ask for everyone to vote, so voted 🙂

    I picked Atlanta.

    Austin is beautiful, but I have severe allergies (pollen, grass, trees etc.), and Austin just about slays me for about 10 months of the year, despite the entire cocktail of inhaled steroids I am on. Plus it is still a small city – flights to/from are not very convenient. (we like to travel)

    Chicago, I love that city (lived near it for two years) – weather doesn’t bother me, I prefer cold to heat, and Chicago is fantastically connected to the rest of the country and the world. However the dealbreaker for me is real-estate prices – too high.

    Atlanta – has a great mix of cultures, has all the advantages of being an east coast city (good connections, easy to drive to places), real estate is very reasonable, pvt education is affordable, decent public schools (suburbs), decent desi crowd (for cultural events) etc.

    M

    Reply
    • 45. Era  |  Friday, June 5, 2009 at 3:56 pm

      Hi M, nice to meet you! Thank you for taking the time to give this great information. I suffer from allergies too and I didn’t even think about that. I remember visiting Atlanta and wondering why all the cars were covered in yellow film. I’d never seen pollen like that before. Ease of travel is also an important consideration. Thanks for the new perspective.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

