Sleep Tight…Don’t Let the Bedbugs Bite!!!

Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 3:00 am 24 comments

sleep-emoticonSleep.  So necessary.  So fundamental.  Yet, so elusive.  I know that I need 8 hours of sleep to feel good, look good and talk good , ahem – speak well.  Yet, I find myself awake way too late on so many occasions.

 

 

I believe it all started when I was a child.  If  my parents fell asleep early, I would treat myself to an 11:00pm solo viewing of the Late Show with Johnny Carson (probably not the best habit for a Kindergartener to form).  On the nights that I was sent to bed on time, I would beg my mother to come in and lie down with me.  She would lie down and sing with me, then gingerly make her escape when she felt I was asleep or, poor Mom, when she’d had enough.  She would get up ever so gently to sneak away, only to hear me say, “Mommy, where are you going?  I’m not sleeping yet.”  Hey, I never said it was easy being my mom.

serta-lambIn college I watched Jay Leno  and David Letterman and have since increased my viewership to include The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and The Colbert Report with Stephen Colbert… Kimmel and O’Brian are funny too, but I can’t stay up that late.  In fact,  I’ve been nodding off in the middle of Desperate Housewives lately.  However, the damage has been done.  I think either the love of being up late and/or my insomnia have rubbed off on my children – despite having put them to bed by 8:00pm faithfully every night for so many years.

winnie the poohNap time and bed time were never fun at our house.  All three kids would take turns coming out of their room every ten seconds, or so, to ask for water, use the bathroom, express fear over some inaudible sound… on and on it would go.  One night my daughter came out of her room to tell me that the Winnie the Pooh mural that was on her wall was staring at her.  Huh?  Well, Hubby resolved that situation with a paper towel and some masking tape.  I’m so glad I married an engineer!

Tonight I had to verbally wrestle them into bed.  And hours later I hear laughter and talking as I sit here writing this post.  Oh well, I guess if you’re not sleeping the bed bugs can’t bite!

PS: “Sleep tight – Don’t let the bedbugs bite” was what my dad would say to me when we said good night.  Don’t call Child Protective Services.  I assure you – there are no bedbugs here. Except the three I hear giggling in the background now!

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Health, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , , .

The Melting of an Instrument I Need Your Help…

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 8:18 am

    I’m so glad my son is young enough to not really fight back about bedtime…yet. And I only have one of them so far… 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 8:36 am

      So, any plans to give him company? 🙂

      Reply
      • 3. cindy  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 11:27 am

        Not at this time. LOL. I’m still just getting used to parenting him! Just the thought of having him running around the house AND a baby makes my head ache. But, someday, when he’s a little older, I might change my mind…

        Reply
        • 4. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:20 pm

          All in good time :).

          Reply
  • 5. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 9:19 am

    My solution is falling asleep with the boys 🙂 No question of them waking up then !
    Although, I wish I could stay awake and watch real TV and not just PBS kids and Playhouse Disney.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 9:25 am

      I know what you mean, but night time is my time. During the day it’s all about them (even while they are in school) and the errands I have to run. I suppose it’s a psychological thing for me. When they are in bed I feel like I am truly on my own – miss independent.

      Now that the kids are older, they are a little more willing to go to bed “on time” because they are allowed to stay up a bit later and don’t wonder what I’m up to while they are in snooze land 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Gary  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 11:09 am

    I have some pretty funky sleeping habits that I need to work on too Era. I stay up until 2:00am almost every night and get up at 7:00am. Then I’m REALLY TIRED all morning and have to take a nap by afternoon which makes me too awake to go to bed at an earlier time. I need to break this vicious cycle. 🙂

    Bedtime at my house is NOT a fun time with our youngest at night. He must pick up all of his toys before going to be which always starts a fit ending up in yelling and crying. I’m waiting for the day he outgrows it. 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:20 pm

      I do the same thing sometimes – the sleep cycle, not the yelling and crying 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Jax  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 11:32 am

    My aunt says: “Good night. Sleep tight. Don’t let the bedbugs bite. And if they do, hit them with a shoe, (something) till they’re black & blue.” I forgot a word or two. Have a great day.

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:22 pm

      That’s cute, I haven’t heard that version 🙂 . You have a great day too!

      Reply
  • 11. Tony  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I often wake up in the middle of the night, cn’t go back to sleep, get u, make coffee, blog for too long then go back to bed later.

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:33 pm

      I know what you mean. Blogging can come to the insomniac’s rescue (helped me quite a few times) and then after a few hours it can make us forget that we need to go back to bed.

      Reply
  • 13. Doraz  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Era ,enough sleep is a must for all , but a prize for few! There is not enough time in a “day” to get things done right, so we have to go into the “night” hours…and zombie out!!! Oh well, naps are great! LOL

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:39 pm

      Naps are great! But sometimes I can’t seem to grab a hold of one of those either 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. nikki  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Hi Era! I followed you from Gary’s blog. 🙂
    I’m a night owl too, always have been! I had a very strict upbringing, in bed at 8pm every night even weekends. When the sun was still up and other kids were out playing still, I was in bed. I would have to lay there seemed like forever!!! I HATED that so much!
    Now that I’m a semi-adult 😉 I stay up late…because I CAN! I do daycare so during the day it is all about them so I understand where you come from when you say the night time is YOUR time!
    I have one son, he’s almost 9 and could easily stay up till midnight every night. Luckily for him I say, he has a mommy who cares about his well being and education and makes him go to bed at 8:30, ok 9 or 9:30 sometimes! Friday night he has no set bed time, he usually passes out in his bed watching TV around 12-12:30. Saturday night he’s in bed by 10:30. I know a lot of parents wouldn’t dream of letting their kids stay up that late but he’s a good kid and he’s hanging out with us most the time so I don’t think it’s a big deal. 🙂

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 12:44 pm

      Nice to meet you Nikki! I know what you mean by “8:30, ok 9 or 9:30”. When American Idol, So You think You Can Dance, and Dancing With the Stars are on, I often let school night bedtimes slide because I love watching these shows with the kids. There seems to be so little that we can watch with our kids these days if we don’t watch cartoons. I do like cartoons though 🙂

      Reply
  • 17. Nelia  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Sigh. Yet another “value exchange” (aka sacrifice) once kids are in the picture. I enjoy managing my own sleep schedule, or lack thereof. But the idea of managing my child’s? Maybe Hank will be up for the challenge…

    Reply
    • 18. Era  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 2:17 pm

      The things we do for love.

      Reply
  • 19. starlaschat  |  Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Cute post, giggling children , before you know it they will grow up before your eyes. I was a late night TV watcher for years now I seem to go to bed early and turn on the radio talk shows. And if there is a good one on it can keep me up way too late. Oh well. I’m trying to get more sleep now with all the health benefits supposedly promised.

    Reply
    • 20. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 6:27 am

      You know, it really does seem like they are growing up too fast. In a few years they’ll all be out of the house! Then I’ll have to watch late night TV just to keep me company!

      Reply
  • 21. nat  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 9:14 am

    ERA!!!! My daughter’s the same as you – right from when in the womb…kept me awake right along with her. every night here is a fight and sobbing and tears and guilt on my part when i feel like i should be sleeping with her bcos she asked me to and then making up the next morning. i always tell myself this should come in handy when she has to study late into the night! was it that way for you?;!

    Reply
    • 22. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 2:24 pm

      My favorite study habit was to go to bed as usual and then get up at about 3am. It is nice and quiet and there are no distractions in the wee hours of the morning. (I’m easily distracted.)

      Reply
  • 23. S. Le  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Who gets 8 hours? I’m lucky if I get 6 good hours per night. I’m tired when I go to bed but don’t sleep well. I have sleepus interruptus.

    Reply
    • 24. Era  |  Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      I think I know what you mean. Sometimes I wake up and find that I’ve been thinking. My mind is going at 100 mph and I haven’t even opened my eyes yet! For the last few months I’ve been averaging 4 hours. For some reason I’ve been waking up around 4am every morning and can’t get back to sleep. I’m beat for the rest of the day. What’s up with that? The other night I collapsed in exhaustion and got 6 hours. It was wonderful.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

