Five Things…

Monday, May 18, 2009 at 2:00 am 10 comments

bikeThere are five fingers on my hand …  five toes on my foot.  Some flowers have five petals and all pentagons have five sides.  This post is about five things. 

The Five Things I Like Most About Being a Mom

1.   First impressions:  Hubby’s expression when he saw each of our children for the first time.  What?  I can be sentimental too – sometimes.  I just try not to make it a habit.

2.  First words:  Hearing those little voices engaged in an activity other than crying.  Somehow they learned to say, “Mommy,  you need to clean up that mess!”  Who taught them to say that?   More importantly, who made the mess?  Not me.

3.  Lookin’ out for each other:  Seeing their concern for one another when one of them is hurt.  

4.  Achievements: 

  • Seeing their accomplishments (especially if it involves something that I taught them – I promise to keep bragging to a minimum) 
  • When they cook for me and otherwise take care of me – it’s my turn (Yeah, I’m selfish like that) 
  • When they teach me (my daughter taught me how to knit.  She learned on the internet – how cool is that?)
  • The best part is when they learn do things better than I can. 

5.  Seeing it sink in:  Realizing that they actually listened to and learned from something I said – even though they didn’t look very interested at the time I said it.  Some of the good stuff seems to be sticking despite my own short comings.

 Five Things I Don’t Like…

(equal opportunity station, remember?)

1.  When they are sick, sad, or otherwise hurt
2.  Punishing them, but sometimes you gotta do it
3.  Whining – whining- and more WHINING!
4.  The yet untamed C-L-U-T-T-E-R!!!
5.  Knowing that you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make him drink.  Despite my best advice, there are some things they just have to learn on their own even if it hurts (hurts me  more than them sometimes).

Share your “fives” on parenting or just life in general.   I’d love to hear from you.

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

Love Letters Procrastinator’s Club: Meeting Postponed…indefinitely

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Monday, May 18, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Love it. Can relate to all 5 Don’t Like more than anything else. Well said

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, May 18, 2009 at 3:50 pm

      I guess we moms have a lot in common 🙂 .

      Reply
  • 3. Jax  |  Monday, May 18, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Someone needs to teach me how to knit (: Very nice post.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, May 18, 2009 at 3:49 pm

      Thanks. Next time you’re in town, talk to Jasmine.

      Reply
  • 5. Doraz  |  Monday, May 18, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Nicely said!
    5 things, huh?
    Well, I agree with a lot of the things you have said!
    I take my role as a mom very seriously. To me, it is a responsibility that should not be taken lightly. Every day is a new day and every challenge is taken with a smile!
    🙂

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Monday, May 18, 2009 at 3:48 pm

      Well said. I’m sure you’re a great mom!

      Reply
  • 7. emma  |  Tuesday, May 19, 2009 at 1:52 am

    5 dislikes:
    1) being broke – i wish i could give them more
    2) not having the job I want that allows me to spend more time with them
    3) playing referree…do i really care who started it? no… if you were involved, you get to go to your room.
    4) tattle-tale phone calls when i am away from home.i mean, seriously – what do they expect me to do about it? I tell ’em, “write it down; i’ll read about it when I get home.”
    5) i cannot manage other people… just like leading the horse to water… ugh!

    things i love:
    1) that they come to me for advice (sometimes)
    2) they let me “play” with them, even if their “cool” teenage friends come over
    3) taking road trips with them and singing loudly in the car
    4) playing games – and just laughing!
    5) when they accomplish something that simply amazes me…

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Tuesday, May 19, 2009 at 5:59 am

      Great list! We could all use more money, but the love you give them is better than any other things you could give them. I love the “write it down, i’ll read about it when i get home”. I am so trying that.

      Reply
  • 9. She talks like June  |  Tuesday, May 19, 2009 at 2:17 am

    If i ever become a mommy, I will add “Giving birth to them and keeping them ALIVE for a time long enough to learn Knitting and surf the internet”

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Tuesday, May 19, 2009 at 6:00 am

      You’ll be a great mom, June!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

