Love Letters

Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 2:00 am 16 comments

love letterIf I speak eloquently but have no love for others, my eloquence is no better than the clanging of pots and pans…  If I love, then I will be patient.  If I love, I will be kind.  Love forgives all manner of wrongs and love endures…  (Inspired by I Corinthians 13).

Do people write letters anymore?  Do people write love letters anymore?  I haven’t written one in a long time.  Haven’t received one in a long time either.  Maybe we should bring this simple act of caring back into focus.

Challenge:  Write a note telling someone how important they are to you.  Do it now.  This post will be here when you get back.  Please do come back, though 🙂 .

This week while visiting my favorite blogs, I read an amazing love story.  It involved a young couple who weren’t trying to impress or entertain.  They were simply living their lives.  The story also involves two people who made it possible for this story to be told.  Perhaps they have their own love story to tell.  Please spare a little time to read and enjoy The Letters Musings of a Mindless Banterer  courtesy of Emma.  For me, it was worth every moment.

Leave Emma a comment and don’t worry, it doesn’t need to be hand written 🙂 .

(picture from here)

Entry filed under: Inspirational, marriage, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , .

Now Children, Play Nice: Lessons from the Playground Five Things…

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 8:27 am

    I sometimes I write letters, but I have not done it in a long time. Its sad that the art of letter writing is being lost to things like email,etc. Nothing replaces getting a handwritten letter…

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 8:29 am

      True, very true.

      Reply
  • 3. Nelia  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Ouch! I’ve been outed.

    I’ve been very adept at writing Hank (the hubby) “gentle” reminders, but can’t remember the last time I wrote an “I adore you” reminder.

    Thanks, Era, for the reminder.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 8:57 am

      You’re welcome, I needed the reminder myself.

      Reply
  • 5. starlaschat  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Such a nice Post! I will take the challenge right after I pop over and read the love story you recommend. How nice , Ive been thinking about this lately about true Love and seeing how people Love each other and often it is not perfect but is Love. I use to write letters to my Grandfather, always around this time of year I would tell him about the flowers in my Garden. Tearin up here. He’s gone, he use to love Gardening.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 12:31 pm

      Sounds like he was a great guy 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. emma  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    i tried to comment on your post from yesterday – but the blackberry wasnt cooperating. ugh. anyway – thanks for the shout-out. it actually made me cry…”perhaps they have their own love story to tell”… that is what i am praying for. that is what i feel i am supposed to be waiting for. i guess only time will tell…

    letters, ah yes. the topic at hand. i love a good letter. one nice thing about being related to the Amish (my dad’s family) is that they HAVE to do letters or notes – no email or texts. i love to send out little notes and try to at least once per week.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 3:23 pm

      I’m praying that you will have a wonderful love story… and feel free to share some of it with us 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Doraz  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Nice link!
    Cool expressions!
    I do not usually write things on paper, unless I need to!
    I usually have NO trouble speaking it!
    🙂

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 5:01 pm

      As long as you get your message across, that’s what counts.

      Reply
  • 11. Gary  |  Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Wow, what an AWESOME story!! FAN-TASTIC!

    Reply
    • 12. Era  |  Sunday, May 17, 2009 at 5:43 pm

      It was really cool.

      Reply
  • 13. Gary  |  Tuesday, May 19, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Hi Era!

    I just wanted to let you know that after reading this post, I wrote my wife a little love letter. I put it inside her laptop bag when she was sleeping so when she pulled her laptop out at work the next day, she would get the letter.

    She loved it and it really made her day!

    Thanks for this little reminder. 😀

    Reply
    • 14. Era  |  Tuesday, May 19, 2009 at 1:55 pm

      Awwww, now you’ve made my day too. Thanks for sharing that with me. 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. starlaschat  |  Friday, May 22, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Awww Gary, that’s so nice to hear. I read the Love letters post mid way I had to stop and make a cup of tea it was so good. It was so well written, it was like a really really good dessert savoring each bite. I love reading when I feel this way, thank you for recommending the post it was a great read!

    Reply
    • 16. Era  |  Friday, May 22, 2009 at 7:50 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

