More Randomness

Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 2:00 am 10 comments

I thought I had purged all the ridiculous tidbits from my life  in Random Thoughts  posted yesterday.  Well, it looks like I missed a few.  Remember folks, it’s not whining unless I say it is.  Let the whining begin.

Not feeling particularly bright eyed nor bushy tailed, I decided to take it easy and stay in for the day (not that difficult for a stay at home mom).   The plan changed, however, when my daughter asked me to drive her to the bus stop.  No problem, the stop is in the neighborhood.  I’ll just throw on a sweater (pajama camouflage) and go.  

  • clarinetThe good news:  we made it just before the bus pulled away. 
  • The not so good news:  my daughter forgot her clarinet, and
  • The bad news:  we had to go home and retrieve it. 

Bye, Bus!  Maybe we’ll catch up tomorrow…  Now  I’ve  got to drive her all the way to school.  (In case you’re wondering, I did get dressed before making the new, longer journey.)

Remember my mini van? – the one that just received $1,500 dollars worth of repairs?  Yeah, well apparently while the mechanics were servicing my vehicle, they were also busy robbing it of its dignity. 

  1. In repairing the dashboard A/C display, the wrong bulb was used.  Not only is the display the wrong color, but the A/C has totally conched out.  OK, that’s not true.  It still works – it just blows hot air.  And as we all know, Florida is miserably cold in May – NOT.
  2. The horn has now taken a vow of silence.  I conveniently discovered this fact while sitting in traffic behind a driver who had fallen asleep at the red light and failed to wake up for the green. That’s ok, I’ve got nothing but time… 

loose leaf paperMy son (the one of More Paper, Please  fame?  Yes, him) needed to print an essay for school.  As you may recall from the previously mentioned post, paper is pretty scarce around here.  We ran out of the stuff a few days ago and of course, yours truly forgot to replenish the stock.  Being the resourceful young man that he is, he decided to to use loose leaf paper.  In theory it was a brilliant idea – in practice- not so much.  Now that I’ve unclogged the paper jam, maybe I can figure out how to clear the error message.

It can only get better from here my friends.  It may not be the smoothest sailing, but at least the view is interesting.  

Make sure you guys have a good one!

(pictures from here and here)

PS:  The printer is fine now, but I still need to buy paper – some things never change.  Check out More Paper,Please.  You’ll be amused.

Entry filed under: humor, Miscellaneous Stuff, Parenting. Tags: , , .

This Made My Day!!! Now Children, Play Nice: Lessons from the Playground

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vasan  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Welcome to life :). I am surprised you even thought that just because you had a plan you had control the way it gets executed. Now with that said. Did you spend quality time with your daughter or did you harp on the clarinet issue the whole way? You know how to unclog a paper jam and your son knows not to use loose leaf paper. Life is a sum total of your experiences so try not to think of any one as a negative. As you may end up a 0 in the end. To more experiences.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 9:12 am

      Good question, Vasan. I am proud to report that I never mentioned her forgetfulness on the way to school because the night before this incident, she did something totally unheard of. She actually practiced playing the clarinet – a small miracle. Here’s to small miracles and more experiences!

      Reply
  • 3. emma  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 9:51 am

    my kids started going through printer paper so fast – i started buying it from the dollar store… ugh. and i WISH we had a bus stop close by. but i have to drive the offspring…and we wer already running late yesterday. went out, got in the van, turned the key… nothing. CRAP! so – i made him call his father to see if he had left for work… luckily he lives 5 minutes away. the ex took the kids to school – while I was “lucky” enough to walk to work… ugh. on the bright side – Big-D offered to come and pick me up after work… [in heaven as i am totally IN LOVE with the man!]… so i said yes. The ex took MY kids to the Minor League game last night with MY tickets and sat in MY 5th row-right-behind-the-batters-box seats, cuz I didn’t have a way to get us all there and I had already Promised the chillens I would take them. BUT… being with Big-D — let’s just say I won. We ended up hanging out and then going for sushi. So — a CRAPPY day – luckily- turned into an AWESOME night! …[sigh]…

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 12:02 pm

      Good for you! I love happy endings. Ps: does the dollar store really sell paper? ‘Cause I need some – badly.

      Reply
  • 5. Gary  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Geesh Era, your day sounds like mine! Being a stay at home dad, I can certainly relate. I don’t however have any problems with the air conditioner in my car but it does leak coolant. LOL I’ll just add it to my “to do” list and get around to fixing it someday. 😉

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 3:36 pm

      Tell me it gets better!!!

      Reply
  • 7. cindy  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I can practically feel your frustration just reading this…

    I totally know what it is like to wake up thinking your day will go one way and have things go completely awry. 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 4:21 pm

      Just another day…

      Reply
  • 9. starlaschat  |  Friday, May 15, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Hey just stopping by my friend Doraz was tweeting nice things about you!

    Reply
    • 10. Era  |  Saturday, May 16, 2009 at 7:56 am

      Nice to meet you!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

