Welcome to The Virgin Islands!

Monday, May 4, 2009 at 2:00 am 13 comments

hibiscus

Hi, I’m from St. Thomas, the main island of the United States Virgin Islands.  When people learn this fact, many of them share their St. Thomas tourist experiences with me.  I’ve heard tales of curious exploits and thought to myself, “you went where?”  No offense, but I suppose I have a slightly different perspective. 

While I wasn’t born on St. Thomas (see Author) , I was born to a St. Thomian family and lived there for over 14 years.   Allow me  to take you on a slightly different tour – one that doesn’t involve duty free shopping.  Touristy, but with a twist.   My twist.

St. Thomas

First let’s start with a view from Mom’s porch on Crown Mountain.  Not bad huh?  This view is of the Cyril E. King Airport and the University of the Virgin Islands where I went for undergrad (herein after referred to as the University). 

(The University appears towards  the middle of the picture  and to the right of the airport runway – white roofed buildings overlooking the sea.) 

view-from-my-moms-porch_r1

(View from Mom's Porch)

Trivia Question:  Where have you seen the above picture before?
Answer:  It’s the header image of  Today’s Thought  – you know, my blog!   
If you answered correctly, you get a free rum punch at the gift shop… uh –  no, not really.  Moving on…

A quick drive down Crown Mountain will take you to the University. 

uvi-airport-view_r2

(View of the dorms and airport runway from the Student Activity Center)

From the Student Activity Center you also have a view up Crown Mountain towards Mom’s house.  Hi Mom!

uvi-uphill-view1

(View of dorms and Crown Mountain)

The following picture is a view down to John Brewer’s Bay, the beach just west of the University.  I assure you, I never cut class to go to the beach.  There was no need.  Beach going was part of my curriculum … I cut for other reasons.

uvi-view-from-classroom-building

(My kids silhouetted against the backdrop of John Brewer's Bay while standing in the passageway of a classroom building)

There’s a rockin’ little waterpark at Limberg bay which is near the airport and east of the University.  Great Fun!  And yes, the University is pretty much sandwiched between two beaches.  Once again, cutting class to go to the beach – didn’t happen.  Well, I know some other people who did…but that’s another post.

stt-water-park_r

(Water park at Limberg Bay)

 

St. John

A great option for an excursion:  Take the Red Hook ferry to the sister island of St. John.  The ferry ride lasts about twenty minutes.  Pictured below is the Auto ferry.  If you’re renting a car while on St. Thomas, you can take it with you!  This is one of my favorite things to do.  Not to fear, if you don’t have a car you can ride the regular ferry and take a taxi/safari once you get to St. John.

auto-ferr_ry

(The Auto ferry)

passing-another-auto-ferry_r

(A view from one Auto Ferry to another)

Once on St. John there are many beaches to visit.  One of the most popular is Trunk Bay, but my favorite is Cinnamon Bay. 

cinnamon-bay-from-the-road_r

(This is a view of Cinnamon Bay from the road above)

Trivia tidbit:  Did I mention that the Virgin Islands are volcanic in origin and are belived to be  the top of a mountain range?  The islands are really hilly with great ocean views all around.

cinnamon-bay-with-kids_r

(Kids at Cinnamon Bay, St. John)

The above picture was taken at the far end of the beach. You have to go into the water and around a rock formation to get to this spot.  It’s sort of a mini beach.  The kids loved it.  We packed a picnic lunch and spent the day on Cinnamon Bay.  Then we took the last Auto Ferry back to St. Thomas.

kids-on-ferry_r

(The kids on the ferry ride back to St. Thomas)

driving-towards-town_r

(A view of St. Thomas harbor and the town of Charlotte Amalie while driving back from our St. John excursion)

 I hope you enjoyed our short tour.  Do come again!  For more information visit USVI Tourism.

PS:  This trip was taken in 2004 when the kids were a lot younger.  Needless to say, they’ve aged a lot better than I have.

(hibiscus photo from here)

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Travel. Tags: , .

2 Timothy 1:7 Pilates and the Ring of Fire

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ritu  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 11:19 am

    The pictures are so beautiful. St. Thomas has just been added to my “Place to visit list”.

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 11:28 am

      Thanks. The tourism bureau owes me now!

      Reply
  • 3. Gary  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I have never been to the islands but they look BEAUTIFUL! I have been to Jamaica and LOVED it! I’m SURE I would like St. Thomas just as much.

    Thanks for the tour! I really enjoyed it!

    P.S. You have beautiful children!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 1:02 pm

      Thanks Gary. I think you would enjoy a visit there.

      Reply
      • 5. Gary  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 7:40 pm

        I have no doubts on that one Era!!

        Reply
  • 6. John  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    Somehow you forgot ST. Croix and of Course… TORTOLA and the even more beautiful BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS.. OR maybe that tour is for another day!!

    Reply
    • 7. Era  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 1:31 pm

      Yep, next time.

      Reply
  • 8. Heather  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Oh my goodness, I can’t believe you actually get to live there…every day!

    Just beautiful.

    Reply
    • 9. Era  |  Monday, May 4, 2009 at 5:36 pm

      Thank you. I live in Florida now. Also beautiful, but in a different way.

      Reply
  • 10. Mom Gone Mad  |  Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Era, a “beach” undergrad” and you made it to law school? Gurrl!

    Me? I’d have been sitting under a palm peacefully conked out from all the partay-ing still!LOL

    Pic of kids in Cinnamon bay was just awesome! Want me some summer now.

    Reply
    • 11. Era  |  Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 3:43 pm

      It’s all a blur to me now. I think it was the fumes from the sunblock spf 30.

      Reply
  • 12. rosa  |  Tuesday, February 9, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    i love the view there is there a lot of hot weather there

    Reply
    • 13. Era  |  Wednesday, February 10, 2010 at 8:50 am

      Thanks for visiting my blog. It is warm and lovely there, especially since it is February now and a lot of other places are cold 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

