A Special Investigation: Uncovering the Real “They”

Friday, May 1, 2009 at 2:00 am 8 comments

mysteryWhat I want to know is, just who do they think they are?

They.  Could you be any less specific?  What is it that makes they the ultimate authority on EVERYTHING?

“That’s what they say.”
“Well, you know what they say about …”
“That’s what they tell me.”

Can somebody p-l-e-a-s-e tell me, “Who… is… THEY?!!!” 

Is the use of they a lame attempt to add an air of authority to any half baked, partially digested, fully regurgitated idea, therefore making it seem more palatable? 

Or could it be that we’re simply too lazy to verify or fact check, so we put all the risk of sounding foolish on them?  I mean they!  Grammatically them but for my purposes they.  Ok … that didn’t come out as well as I would have liked.

They are our biggest supporters and allies.  So the next you want to win an argument in which your assertion is being kicked, courageously apply the formidable support and infinite wisdom of “they say.

Need to shame your kids into eating their vegetables? 
Want to nudge your spouse into tackling an ever expanding to do list?
Have the desire to help a friend give up an unhealthy habit?

Then boldly invoke the power of they.  Place your order now!  It REALLY works … (Or at least that’s what they tell me.)

Offer valid while supplies last.

PS:  Please don’t scour this site  for all the instances in which I played the now infamous “they say” card.  🙂

(above picture from here)

Entry filed under: humor, Miscellaneous Stuff, Our World. Tags: , , .

Date Night Revisited 2 Timothy 1:7

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lesley Denford  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Hahaha…love this! I’ve always wondered who “they” are, and why we care so much what “they” have to say about our lives. When I have kids I will definitely keep this trick up my sleeves. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 11:21 am

      Hi Lesley, thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 3. Mom Gone Mad  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    If I didn’t have “them”, I’d have to outsource parenting!
    *exhausted sigh*

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 1:20 pm

      So true, so true.

      Reply
  • 5. June  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    If your kids are teenager, “they” is INTERNET!
    Thanks from dropping by my blog and lfor your comment.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 3:59 pm

      The internet and friends from school. Ditto on the visit and the comment!

      Reply
  • 7. cindy  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    LOL…this cracks me up! 😀

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, May 1, 2009 at 5:29 pm

      It’s funny how certain phrases become staples of our conversation. I had fun thinking about. I’m glad you had a laugh 🙂 .

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

