A Planned Coincidence

Friday, April 17, 2009 at 2:00 am 4 comments

happy-handsOn the eve of my daughter’s 13th birthday we decorated her hands with mendhi.   I wish I could take credit for timing this activity with her birthday, but I can’t.  Let’s chalk this one up to a series of complicated events best labeled as… happenstance.

Last year we spent the Christmas holidays in New York.  During an excursion to the Jackson Heights area, we bought a henna cone in one of the Indian shops.  Although inexperienced in mendhi application, we decided to give it a try.

Once we returned  from our vacation, the henna went straight into the refrigerator for prolonged storage.  Occasionally while searching for condiments, I would re-discover the cone and make a mental note to use it before it went bad.  Somehow I never got around to it.  There it sat for almost four months – until disaster struck.

On a fine April morning (about five days ago), the light failed to come on when I opened the refrigerator door.  My first thought: “gotta change that light bulb”.  However, by the next day it was obvious that the old ice box was getting mighty warm.  Alas, global warming had struck  our fridge.

After several frustrating days of “We’re sorry ma’am, we don’t have any available service technicians” , I decided to clean out the fridge before it had a chance to become Gross.  We had used up as much food as possible, but there was only so much we could do. 
happy-hand-iiWhile remorsefully discarding wilted veggies, overly warm dairy products, and bottles of fermenting condiments , I came upon a little green cone.  It had taken four months and happy-hand-iiia refrigeration malfunction, but it’s time had finally come.  Despite my novice skills, I gave my daughter the royal treatment.  We had a wonderful time and the memories will last – at least until the final stroke fades.

 PS:  The repair guy found no reason for the refrigerator malfunction,  It was most likely a computer glitch.  Apparently the fridge has more computer in it than this laptop I’m using.  At least that’s what the repair man tells me.

PPS:  I found several spellings for mendhi including mehndi, mehendi, and mehandi.   I simply chose one and went with it. 

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , , .

Sheikra Numbers 6:24-26

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Friday, April 17, 2009 at 5:50 am

    these are beautiful! She’s a lucky girl. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, April 17, 2009 at 7:41 am

      Thanks, Cindy 🙂 . Now if we can just keep the refrigerator from dying off…

      Reply
  • 3. Sudharsana Srinivasan  |  Friday, April 17, 2009 at 9:06 am

    WOW ! That looks awesome. You did that ? and you call yourself a novice….. How exciting to have such pretty mehendi on her hands….. indeed a wonderful 13th !

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, April 17, 2009 at 9:30 am

      Thanks Sudharsana, I think she had a pretty good time. We will be having the actual cake cutting ceremony this weekend since Hubby was out of town on her special day. I wonder how he’ll handle “Take Your Kids to Work Day”? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

