Chocolate

Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 2:00 am 4 comments

Mmmmm Chocolate

Hi, my name is Era and I like chocolate.  They say that knowing you have a problem is half the battle.  Then that should mean I only have half a problem.  That’s not so bad, right?  We all have vices, but the million dollar question is “do we have to get rid of all of them? “

It’s been said that the love of money is the root of all evil.  I wonder, where does the love of chocolate rank on the scale naughtiness?  Chocolate can’t be all bad, can it?  How ’bout those anti-oxidants?  Oh, only found in dark chocolate.  Well ain’t that a ….

Nonetheless, think about it.  How does one mend a broken heart?  With Hershey kisses, of course.

Plain chocolate is nice, but I like extra stuff (nothing with peanuts, though, you know  – allergies).  Crisped rice is great.  I like Nestle´ Crunch  miniatures.  The full sized ones are too thin but the miniatures are small and chuncky.  Yeah, like me – – hey, wait – a – minute…  

I’m told that my grandmother used to make chocolate from scratch.  She would send my mother to buy the raw pods and then process them by hand.  I wonder if I could grow a cocao tree in my yard?  Naaaah, too much work.  That’s why God created people like Rodolphe Lindt, and Domenico Ghirardelli.

chocolate-barWith so many varieties of chocolate available, I still tend to gravitate toward a couple of tried and true standards.  Case in point: Symphony bars by Hershey.  Smooth, creamy milk chocolate with crunchy almonds and sweet/salty toffee bits…Mmmmm.  But I have to say, Twix by M&M Mars is my standby, go to bar.  Snap goes the crunchy shortbread cookie as I break it, and then stre -e-e-e-e-tch goes the rich, chewy caramel as I further separate the pieces.  Ahhhhh.

 Similarly, when it comes to ice-cream, notwithstanding the height and breadth of available choices, I’m a cookies-n-ceam fan.  Not plain vanilla, yet not all chocolate… (note to self: work on commitment phobia).   Then there are chocolate chip cookies.  They provide the palette with a whold new dimension.

If you happen to see me passed out on a sidewalk somewhere, forget the smelling salts, just wave a Twix under my nose.  But watch out for your fingers!   Mmmmm.  If I still don’t open my eyes, feed me another… for good measure.  Addicted? Nooooo, of course not.  I can “quit” any time I want to.  Wanna  share a Twix?  What’s your guilty pleasure?

                                                                                                   mixed-bon-bons

Entry filed under: Family, Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , .

Simply Complicated It’s a Jungle Out There

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom Gone Mad  |  Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 7:12 am

    Unreal!!!! You’re a twix lover too??:-)

    I can’t get through seriously stressful days without Twix.. and I don’t even like chocolate!

    Hope you had a great Easter break. Good to be back reading you:-)

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 7:59 am

      Good to hear from you! I miss your posts. I hope you’ll be writing soon.

      Reply
  • 3. Jax  |  Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Twix is my favorite. Anything with almonds is great also.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 8:45 am

      Cool! I didn’t realize there were so many Twix fans. Well, obviously it’s selling well or they would yank it from the shelves. Hmm, I guess I should stock just in case. I’m always looking for an excuse to do that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

