Simply Complicated

Monday, April 13, 2009 at 2:00 am 6 comments

ridge-overview_r1

View of the Ridge

This is how Simple becomes Complicated.  Come along for the ride.

 

 

Setting:  Inside the house. 

Me:  I’m going to to the Ridge to take some pictures.
Hubby:  Take the kids with you. 
Me:  They won’t wanna come.
Hubby:  Take them anyway.
Me:  Deep sigh.  (Is this not the beginning of most complications?)  Kids, lets go to the Ridge.  I want to take some pictures.  (Said in a voice loud enough to stir them from their various enclaves.)

They start showing up one by one.

Author’s note:  Today the kids will be referred to as Bored, Disgruntled, and Somewhat Willing.

Somewhat Willing:  Are we driving there or riding our bikes?
Me:  Let’s walk.  It’ll only take a few minutes.
Disgruntled:  I don’t want to go.
Me:   Well, you’re coming anyway. 
Bored:  Do I have to go?
Me: Yes!  (in a slightly exasperated tone).
Bored:  Can I ride my bike?
Me:  It’s too much trouble to get the bikes out of the shed. 
Disgruntled:  Can I ride my bike?
Me:  (With eyes a little crossed and slightly twitching, and a mild headache coming on)  Ok, since two of you want to ride, let’s all ride.    Disgruntled, go get the keys to the bike shed, please.

Disgruntled stomps off  to get the keys while the rest of us put on our shoes.

*  *  *

Setting:  Outside on the driveway.

After about 20 minutes of wrestling the bikes out of the shed (pedals of one bike stuck in the spokes of another, etc.) we  make a discovery…the tires are flat.  So much for simple.

Me:  Bored, please go get the bicycle pump.
Bored:  Where is it?
Me: You figure it out.

Bored disappears into the garage on hunting expedition.

About 2 minutes later Bored returns.

Bored:  I can’t reach it.
Me:  (note to self:  Did I really think this would go off without a hitch?)

With shoulders hunched and head lowered, I mope my way  into the garage  and get the pump off the shelf.  I pump it a couple of times as I exit the garage.
It doesn’t work. 

Me:  It doesn’t work ?!   Is this for real?  HOW  DOES   A  MANUAL  BIKE  PUMP  NOT  WORK !?!

I run inside for advice.

Hubby:  Try the electric pump attached to the car battery charger.
Me:  (note to self:  Good idea, but I’ll never tell him that.)

I run back outside and get the charger out of the trunk… 
 After a few minutes I find the right attachments and start filling all eight bicycle tires with air.  The sun is now directly overhead and it’s uncomfortably hot.  I could have been inside watching television, but nooooo.

Somewhat Willing:   If we had walked we’d be back by now.  It’s getting really hot.  (Funny how the truth hurts.)

I grimmace and roll my eyes – bad habbit, I know.  The last tire is filled and Hubby steps out of the house to check on the progress of our now disillusioned gang.

Bored: Why isn’t Daddy coming?
Hubby:  I have to do taxes.
Consensus:  Do them later!!!

So back to the shed.  Out comes the last bike.  Air in the tires?  Yes. Thank God!!!

FINALLY  off we go… all five of us. 

Have you experienced any simple complications lately?

ridge-overview_r

This is one entrance to the Ridge

I took this picture as the fifth person in line.  You can see Bored Kid and Hubby.  Somewhat Willing Kid and Disgusted Kid are way ahead.

I took this picture as the fifth person in line. You can see Hubby and one of the kids. The other two are way ahead.

By the time we got to this part of the Ridge I started to think it was worth the extra trouble

By the time we got to this part of the Ridge I started to think this trip was worth the extra trouble.

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

Romans 8:38-39 Chocolate

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sylvie  |  Monday, April 13, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Love this story. It sounds eerily like my life every day. Just when I get all three kids to agree to do something and we are about to walk it out I hear one of them scream, one of the dogs pooped on the floor. while i am cleaning it the baby messes his diaper. while I am changing it another is starving and then I can’t find my keys (note to self: never get another dog in my life and always hang the keys on the hook). Thanks for sharing your beautiful picks, it’s so true, after all the craziness you have those beautiful moments. It’s nice to see the pics of the ridge, i miss that neighborhood.
    Say hello to Vasan for me.
    Sylvie

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, April 13, 2009 at 9:43 pm

      Hey Sylvie, nice to hear from you. As far as the craziness, I guess that just keeps it interesting. Vasan says Hi.

      Reply
  • 3. Ritu  |  Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Déjà vu
    Just yesterday I asked the kids if they would want to walk to Blockbuster with me so we could return the movies. After a big discussion on bike vs scooter vs walking we finally ended up not going 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 3:02 pm

      How funny. I guess we aren’t the only ones.

      Reply
  • 5. Jax  |  Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I really enjoyed your story and your photos.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, April 16, 2009 at 8:42 am

      Thanks, come visit and we go there. But will we walk or ride? Hmmm.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

