Follow the Wind

Friday, April 10, 2009 at 7:00 am 8 comments

This is a story written by my daughter. Enjoy.

Follow the Wind

by Heather

Milkweed seed pods
Milkweed seed pods

Chapter 1

I was lying awake inside my milkweed pod. The others were sleeping, but something felt weird… I just couldn’t fall asleep. Then it happened. The pod split. For a moment I froze. I didn’t know what to think. I caught myself and yelled to my pod mates. No answer. They were all fast asleep.

“THE POD SPLIT!” I yelled. “WE’RE FLOATING AWAY!!”

Still no answer.

I always knew I’d be separated from my pod. I just didn’t expect it to be so soon. I cried myself to sleep that night, but something about floating and being free comforted me (only a bit).

FLOATING

FLOATING

FLOATING

Milkweed seeds
Milkweed seeds with silken “parachutes”

Chapter 2

My eyes opened up to a big, blue, mysterious object above me. It was dabbed with white and had an eye-catching spot of yellow. My Mama told me when she was a seed she saw a blue thing called the sky. Maybe that was it.

I was still floating, wondering where my mates were when I heard someone call my name. “Edward… E-Edwaaaaard!” The shy voice was getting nearer and clearer until I recognized it. It was Amelia! She flew past the bushes with fear in her eyes. Relieved to see a partially familiar face, I asked “Where do we go now?”

“I don’t know”, she replied. “No one warned us.”

After a long silence, I heard her mutter, “Follow the wind.”

“What does that mean?” I questioned.

“I- – I don’t know. It was just something my mom used to say.”

The wheels in my head started spinning.

“Follow the wind… Follow the wind…FOLLOW THE WIND!”

She looked at me as if I had jumped into a pile of dung. At that instant, a sharp gust of wind blew us into a meadow with tall grass. Amelia got stuck on a blade of grass and was starting to slip into the soil. I yelled, “It’s our responsibility to follow the wind! We need to produce milkweeds all over the world…or where the wind takes us!”

Amelia gave me one of her rare yet pretty smiles… and was gone.

“Thanks, Amelia!” I yelled out loud, tears running down my face.

* * *

PS: We planted milkweed in our backyard to attract more butterflies. Milkweed is the host plant for monarch caterpillars (it’s the only stuff they’ll eat). It also attracts lady bugs, yellow aphids and a whole host of other insects. It’s been a successful and rewarding experiment. We even got a story out of it too.

PPS:  Heather got an A+ for her story in writing class.

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Miscellaneous Stuff, Our World, Poetry and Prose. Tags: , , , .

A Tale of Two Birds Micah 6:8

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Friday, April 10, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Okay…I’m totally jealous. You have cool-looking caterpillars, butterflies AND birds in your backyard?

    And I loved your story! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Friday, April 10, 2009 at 9:25 am

      Thanks Cindy, I just showed Heather your comment.

      Reply
  • 3. Ritu  |  Friday, April 10, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Heather, Loved your story. It was so creative. So proud of you.

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, April 10, 2009 at 3:22 pm

      Thanks, I will pass the compliment on to Heather.

      Reply
  • 5. Jax  |  Friday, April 10, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    We have one of those right in front of our house but we did not know what it was. 6 or 7 caterpillars ate all the leaves but it has gotten new ones. Unfortunately we never saw the butterflies. Excellent story, Heather.

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Friday, April 10, 2009 at 3:21 pm

      The caterpillars don’t spin the crysalis on the milkweed, apparently. At first I thought they all died but on closer inspection… They crawl away to other plants. I have always found them in other parts of the garden. You may need to do a little detective work.

      Reply
  • 7. Sudharsana  |  Friday, April 10, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Excelllent story. Love the bright colored milk weeds and the moarch butterfly.

    Reply
    • 8. Era  |  Friday, April 10, 2009 at 3:25 pm

      Thanks, will let Heather know.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

