Not Funny Grandpa

Friday, April 3, 2009 at 7:00 am Leave a comment

grandpas_bourganvilla_rIt’s true.  Kids say the darnedest things, especially when we think they are too young to understand certain connotations or contexts.

We were all in the minivan – Mom, Dad, Grandma and Grandpa, 5 year old, 3 year old, and 2 year old.  I don’t remember what it was, but my 2 year old son said something.  It didn’t strike me as out of the ordinary, but for some reason Grandpa was amused.  He chuckled.

Needless to say, this didn’t sit well with my son.  He responded with a “not funny Grandpa!” in a tone that seemed mature and reprimanding well beyond his years.  If Grandpa was chuckling before, he was guffawing now.  In fact we all were (except my son, of course).

Eight years later, my son has no recollection of the matter (the children were simply too young) and Grandpa is no longer here.  We miss his chuckle.  I guess I’ll have this moment to cherish all for myself.

PS:  The picture above is of the bourganvilla plant that Grandpa gave us several years ago.  Based on various construction projects around the house it has survived several moves but remains as beautiful as ever.  It’s strong and lovely as he was.

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

Oops… : Crime and Punishment (Essay #3) Heroin for Babies

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

