Oops… : Crime and Punishment (Essay #3)

Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 7:00 am 5 comments

Our oldest penned this essay.  She’ll be 13 in a couple of weeks.  How time flies.  Notice the format she chose.  For background read On Crime and Punishment  and for the other two essays read What I Did Wrong and Why We Don’t Have Privileges.

Oops…

By Jasmine

The Issue

I have made many mistakes in my life. One that keeps recurring is my inability to clean up properly.  I am perfectly capable of doing it but sometimes my laziness gets the best of me.

Learning

Part of making a mistake is learning from it.  I learned that not cleaning up leaves unnecessary clutter which can slow you down. Also, it keeps the house messy.

The Solution(s)

Here are a couple of ways I will improve this unacceptable behavior.  I will put away things as I go and check my area before I leave the house.

All in all, not cleaning up efficiently should be discontinued because it makes the house disorganized.  To correct this I will put things away as I go and double check my area.

PS: for background read On Crime and Punishment and for the other essays in the series read What I Did Wrong and Why We Don’t Have Privileges.  In order to remind them of this effort, I may have to hang copies of these essays over their beds and desks.  Hmmm…wonder if that’ll work?  I hope you enjoyed our little mini series.

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

Why We Don’t Have Privileges: Crime and Punishment (Essay#2) Not Funny Grandpa

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sudharsana  |  Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Nice work all 3 ! I think I will get Adi to read these…. might help around here too 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Era  |  Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    I will tell them that they’ve gotten good reviews. Thanks for taking the time to read their work.

    Reply
  • 3. cindy  |  Thursday, April 2, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I think its a good idea to hang them up in places they can see them. Kids can so easily forget a punishment…they’ll never forget if they’re in plain sight!

    As for the essay, it sounds like it was quite effective at getting her to really think about what she was being punished for. Nice work!

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Friday, April 3, 2009 at 6:16 am

      All in all I think it was a positive experience. However, I’m not even sure if tatooing the essays onto their forearms would work for more than a few days 🙂 . Alas, it’s just the way parenting goes. Keep repeating, keep repeating, keep repeating.

      Reply
  • 5. Name withheld to protect the (not so) innocent  |  Sunday, October 24, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    A friend of mine had a daughter that was 13 and talking secretly on the phone to a boy ( pause here to allow everyone gasp in horror). Her school class was taking a trip to Florida and he was thinking of not allowing her to go. Which I felt was entirely too harsh (but didn’t say anything – she’s not my kid. lol)

    Well, he asked me what I would do. I’m not even a parent! He did that a few times actually. Not sure if it was for future training or what. Maybe he really did value my advice?

    I thought about it awhile, and suggested he give her the option of either not going, or choosing to write an essay (I think I said 250 words) on what she did wrong, why it was wrong, and what she learned. Not sure where I learned that because when I was growing up I never had to do any essay.

    A few days later she was writing the essay and saying she was happy he decided to let her do that rather than keeping her from going to Florida. I never did tell her. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

