On Crime and Punishment

Monday, March 30, 2009 at 7:00 am 5 comments

handcuffsThis is a prelude to a three part series written by my children.  If you’ve read my post  F-R-U-S-T-R-A-T-I-O-N, you know the struggle that goes on at my house to keep my three angels from becoming the Three Little Pigs. For the next three posts I will publish their essays of contrition right here.

Now for some background.  Hubby is generally away on business trips (the life of an IT consultant) so he doesn’t often enter the fray.  On this particular day, however, he did.  You see, every once in a while I take a vacation.  Unfortunately, not the proper kind involving pool side lounging and fancy umbrella drinks.  I simply turn off the looped voice recording of me telling them (as nicely as I can muster, with a sweet smile ) to PICK- UP- YOUR- DISGUSTING -TRASH- AND- DIRTY- LAUNDRY- FROM -EVERY- CORNER -OF -MY- HOUSE!  Oops, did I say that out loud?  He he.

Noticing the extra messy condition of things, Hubby asked them to clean up warning that he would come to check when they were done – in other words- do a good job, people.  Over hearing the instructions I thought to myself- good luck with that and welcome to my world.  Needless to say after several half a– –ed attempts,  no real progress had been made.  So after leading them through the proper method of making the place look decent, he meted out punishment.  No electronics for the rest of the weekend and write an essay of at least 100 words describing what happened, why, and what was learned.

These essays will be presented over the next three posts because I know that those of you who are kind enough to stop by and read, have lives too.  So I am breaking the essays up into three  reasonably sized parts to give each child their freedom of expression and to allow you to read without feeling like we’re taking up all of your time.  I think you’ll enjoy. See you tomorrow.

PS: Next in the series, read What I Did Wrong, and Why We Don’t Have Privileges, and Oops…  The essays and titles represent the children’s original work. 

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

Cookie in the Park What I Did Wrong: Crime and Punishment (Essay#1)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sudharsana  |  Monday, March 30, 2009 at 10:44 am

    They actually sat and wrote essays ? mine would do anything but write for a punishment 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Monday, March 30, 2009 at 5:38 pm

      Frankly I was surprised when they brought me the essays and informed me that Daddy made them do it. Way to go Daddy!

      Reply
  • 3. Mom Gone Mad  |  Monday, March 30, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    GENIUS!!!:-) These are three essays I’m going to have to read.

    Fabulous essay title too. Now, if I had to write this kind of essay as I kid, I might have been better behaved and had better writing skills!:-)

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Monday, March 30, 2009 at 5:36 pm

      I guess only time will tell if this exercise actually helped. Thanks for stopping by and reading.

      Reply
  • 5. Name withheld to protect the (not so) innocent  |  Sunday, October 24, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Can’t help but notice he did let them use electronics to do the essays. lol

    I’m impressed by their skills. Especially your son, with the fancy font. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

