Peek-a-boo Penguin

Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 7:00 am 4 comments

It was late September and my cousin graciously, as always, showed us around Manhattan.  Not a fan of zoos myself, I was prepared to chalk this adventure up to one of those chores I would endure for the sake of the children.  The Central Park Zoo, however, turned out to be no obligation.

It was beautiful.  The exhibits were compact and well laid out.  Natural habitats were created with great care and artistry.  For me, the penguins made all the difference.  The penguin exhibit consisted of a rocky area for them to perch on and a pool in which to swim.  One side of the pool was made of glass so that visitors could see the penguins on land as well as below the water.

While we were watching, one little penguin jumped into the water and swam over to the glass.  It was eye level with my son while it was under water.  It looked at my son  through the glass from under water, then lifted its head above the water for a different view.  My son tip toed to meet its gaze.  Then they continued to play this sort of peek-a-boo game for several rounds.  When I left the hotel that morning, I never thought we would get to play with a penguin.

Entry filed under: Family. Tags: , .

F-R-U-S-T-R-A-T-I-O-N Cookie in the Park

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    I once went to the Boston Aquarium which was really fun. They had a BUNCH of penguins there and, let me tell you, they were really, really loud! I had no idea that penguins could be that obnoxiously loud, but I was obviously very, very wrong.

    It’s really interesting that the penguin took such an interest in your son since the penguins I had an opportunity to meet kept their distance. Hopefully, you got some good pics of the encounter 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Era  |  Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    In the past, I have had smelly encounters with penguins in zoos. But there is something to be said about the Central Park Zoo. The exhibits were small and intimate – not to mention very clean. The only problem, we were so caught up in the moment, we didn’t get any pictures. I know, what a shame.

    Reply
  • 3. Lucy  |  Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 4:51 am

    It’s nice when you get a little personal moment like this! I once got to hold a baby penguin, not long hatched, which was rather nice. I’ve also been sitting on the ground surrounded by penguins, who were extremely interested in my coat and kept tugging at it. I was 13 at the time and LOVED it!!

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog – very nice to meet you!!

    Lucy

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Sunday, March 29, 2009 at 8:24 am

      It is nice to have those moments. Nice to meet you too, Lucy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

