Don’t Forget to Look Down

Wednesday, March 25, 2009 at 9:21 pm Leave a comment

times-square 

They say that life is not measured in the number of breaths you take, but in the number of moments that take your breath away.  Here is one of my moments:

It was about 8 pm and we were standing in Time Square.  My eyes were wide with wonder.  I was awed by the jumbo-tron, dazzled by the bright lights, and fixated on the financial and news tickers scrolling across the buildings.  There was a hustle and bustle, a palpable excitement in the air.  Time Square has that hold on me – every time. 

While looking up in total bliss, I heard the children hoot and holler with glee.  “I know, isn’t it awesome ?” I asked, only to realize that they were unimpressed  and unmoved by the splendor above.  They were simply enthralled by the sidewalk  below.  This sparkley path through the concrete jungle was awash with glitter.  Irridescent aggregate  had been added to the concrete and the effect was magnified by the flashing lights that had captivated me just moments before.  Only the children (approximately aged 3, 5, and 6) could have brought my attention down to that one, overlooked, yet stunning detail.

 

times-square

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Inspirational, Miscellaneous Stuff, Parenting. Tags: , , , , , .

The End of an “ER”A Thai Smile

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

