The End of an “ER”A

Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 11:21 pm Leave a comment

cast-of-erI do enjoy a good television show.  Call it the idiot box all you want, but there’s something to be said about good, old fashioned, mindless entertainment.

Each season new comedies, dramas, and reality shows compete for our viewership.  Some shows- I don’t even notice until their second or third seasons.  Case in point, Seinfeld and The Office.  It took me a while to tune in, but once I did, I was hooked.

Other shows, like The Simpsons, capture  my attention immediately and engage my imagination for many seasons … only to  fade quietly from my screen.  Like long lost friends – we just fall out of touch.

ER, on the other hand, is one of the few shows that has held my interest from beignning to end.  Since the show began in 1994, there are  few episodes, if any, that I have missed.

One problem the show suffers from is “romantic musical chairs”.   Then again, what can provide more drama than workplace romance gone wrong?  After one failed relationship, the partners just move on to the next co-workers.  There is also an inherent danger lurking in the background.  Not only patients die at “Chicago General”.  Here is a list of doctors who bid untimely farewells:

  • Dennis Gant (resident) fell or jumped to his death on the El tracks ( accidental or intentional? – no one knows ).
  • Lucy Knight (intern) was stabbed to death by a psychologically disturbed patient.
  • Attending Mark Green succumbed to cancer.
  • Michael Gallant (resident) was killed during a second tour of duty in Iraq.
  • Hot shot surgical attending and “resident jerk”, Robert Romano lost an arm to helicopter blades while receiving a medical transport patient, and then a year or so later was crushed when a helicopter crashed on top of him. What’s with the helicopters already?
  • Attending Gregg Pratt died from injuries suffered in an ambulance explosion, while transporting a patient who was in the witness protection program.

On a nonfictional and sad note, the shows creator Michael Crichton died from cancer earlier this year.

I can hardly believe I watched a show continuously for 15 years.  It was a great run but all good things must come to an end.  Plus, I have to go.  I think Dancing with the Stars is on.

Entry filed under: Pop Culture. Tags: , , .

More Paper, Please Don’t Forget to Look Down

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

