More Paper, Please

Sunday, March 22, 2009 at 11:07 am 6 comments

sheet-of-paperPerhaps you can remember the days when you had classic dorm room, or bachelor furniture.  A  few plastic chairs, a hand-me-down lamp, or even the ever popular futon.  I remember those days….

I also remember the first sofas we bought.  Traditional rounded backs covered in rich, caramel colored, distressed leather.  Our formal living room had sat empty for over a year.  The children were young, we were young.  Open space for riding in brightly colored plastic vehicles seemed more practical than having fancy furniture that no one would be allowed to sit on anyway.  After a while, though, we wanted to feel like grown ups.  So we purchased some “real” furniture.  By this time our youngest was in pre-school and we had passed several milestones as a family.  We were ready for the next step – furniture that we didn’t have to assemble ourselves. 

Less than a week after the new sofas arrived, I looked… and then did a double take.  Eyes popping and mouth wide open, I thought I must be mistaken, ” are those blue ink marks on my new sofa!?”  I blinked in disbelief.  Then I blinked again.  Reeling with shock I rounded up the usual suspects.

“Who wrote on the sofa?”  I asked in an uncharacteristically calm and eerily quiet interrogation.  I was numb with shock.  Quietly the two year old confessed (he was the only child at home during the incident).  Why? I ask in stunned disbelief (my kids certainly knew better – or so I had thought).  

ream-of-paperIn a matter-of-fact tone, he explained what had happened.  ” I didn’t have any paper”, he said.  So the next time you’re in Office Depot or Staples,  think about that.

Entry filed under: Children, Family, Parenting. Tags: , , .

“Because You’re Worth It” The End of an “ER”A

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cindy  |  Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    This story made me laugh so hard. 🙂
    I guess I don’t have to worry though since I don’t have any good furniture to worry about my son drawing on. Maybe some day…I’m still young though, so I have some time…

    Reply
    • 2. erasundar1  |  Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 12:29 pm

      Hi, Cindy, I’m glad you enjoyed the post and thanks for leaving a comment. By the way, I was able to clean off 98% of the ink and the intense Florida sun shining through the windows took care of the rest.

      Reply
  • 3. Sudharsana  |  Wednesday, March 25, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Amazing how kids can really say the ” Darnest ” things !! A pat on Arvind’s back 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Era  |  Saturday, April 18, 2009 at 2:51 pm

      Will do.

      Reply
  • 5. Camille  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Ha ha! That reminds me of the time I walked into youngest son’s room, where he and DD had been conspiring. They had formed the “Young Inventors’ Club,” which was great. Right? Yes, well, except for the fact that their “Rules for Inventing” were written in fabric paint markers on the wall, starting from about 6 feet high to the baseboards. Did you know that fabric paint does NOT come off of wall paint?

    Reply
    • 6. Era  |  Thursday, May 14, 2009 at 3:33 pm

      LOL!!! No, I did not know that. I take it you taught them how to wield a paint roller shortly thereafter?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

