Inspiration can be Fleeting

Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 6:21 am 2 comments

Inspiration is everywhere.  

I had been sitting on the edge of my bed, staring out the window.  What should I write about next?  The whole day had gone by without so much as a glimmer of creativity.  Then a sudden flash of inspiration blinded me.  A beautiful orange glow filtered through the horizontal blinds and lit up the entire room.  The warm light gleamed off the dark window frames and caused ripples from the pool outside, to reflect onto the ceiling.   As I stared outside, mesmerized, the trees seemed to blush and the clouds beamed with  gold, silver, and pink outlines.

“Brilliant!”,  I thought.  That’s what I’ll write about.  By the time I woke my computer from its hibernation and opened the new post page, the sun had slipped from that perfect angle and the room was no longer illuminated by that exhilarating, yet serene glow.  The feelings of warmth and energy dissipated as the brilliance outside my window turned to dusk.  There was still enough light to see the colors of the grass and trees and the sky still retained a pinkish blush, but that ethereal flicker was gone. 

Had it remained, I would have been able to effortlessly rattle off sentences in a rapturous ode to nature.  But both the visual and physical impressions had gone.  I had to dig deep into my memory and imagination.  However, some remnants of the image still linger on in my mind.  This was the spark that produced the post  “Sunlight”.

At some point, for every writer, there comes a time when the next story, the next article, or the next post seems to be just out of reach.  Inspiration is everywhere, but it can be fleeting.  And sad to say, I probably don’t recognize it often enough.

Entry filed under: State of the Blog Address. Tags: , .

Worth Their Weight in Cookies La Quinta is Spanish for…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vasan  |  Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Life is all about the moment… The light might have been fleeting, but trust me when i say the impression is everlasting… You just have to wait and there will be another moment… Keep your head up and keep looking and there are more moments that will take your breath away…. As the famous saying goes… “Life is not about the breaths you take, but the moments that take your breath away”

    Reply
  • 2. erasundar1  |  Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Vasan,
    That is a beautiful sentiment, Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

