Worth Their Weight in Cookies

Monday, March 16, 2009 at 7:16 pm 2 comments

For several years the majority of my day was spent wiping little faces and changing diapers (taking care of one end or the other).  I suppose having three kids in three years will do that to you.   Well,  I’m proud to announce that it’s finally paying off.   Now that the crew is aged 10 – 13,  they can return the favor – no, I don’t mean the changing diapers part. 

For my birthday, the girls made the BEST chocolate chip “cookie cake” ever.  It was decorated with lovely green icing flowers and letters that read Happy Birthday.  By the way, did I mention how delicious it was?  It took all the restraint I have not to go and eat the whole thing.  My seventh grader learned the recipe in Home Economics class and I’m going to share it with you.  Bon Appetit!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup + 1TBSP Flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick) I didn’t say it was health food
  • 6 TBSP sugar
  • 6TBSP brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 6 oz. chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. In a small bowl mix flour, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl beat butter, sugar, and brown sugar until creamy.
  4. Beat the egg and vanilla together and add to the creamed butter and sugar mixture.
  5. Gradually fold in flour mixture.
  6. Stir in chocolate chips.
  7. Drop spoonfuls of the cookie dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Leave at least 2 1/2 inches between each cookie, they spread.
  8. Bake 6 to 10 minutes.
  9. Let cool.
  10. Enjoy

Note:  This is  considered a half of the recipe.  I’m told it produced 22 cookies in the Home Economics class.  They do spread out during baking so drop individual cookies at least 2 1/2 inches apart.  In order to make the cookie cake, the girls doubled this recipe and spread it onto an approximately 15inx9in silicone baking mat.  If you try the recipe let me know how it comes out. 

 

Entry filed under: Family, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

The Pursuit of Happiness Inspiration can be Fleeting

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nelia  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    Bookmarked!

    Reply
    • 2. Era  |  Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 5:04 pm

      Try them. Good Eats!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Popular Posts

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

