Another day, another year

Friday, March 13, 2009 at 1:50 pm 4 comments

Birthdays are curious occasions.  Are we celebrating the fact that we were born or the fact that we’ve been enriched by another year?  Like produce, we are all walking around with our own personal expiration dates.  So exciting.

The first decade is all about having fun.  Growing.  Exploring.  Learning.  During the second decade, society expects us to start preparing seriously for adulthood.  But we just want to get older so we can do our own thing and not get bossed around. 

The third decade is all about potential.  We are poised to take our place in society, attain higher education, join the workforce, establish families, and emerge as the new leaders, taking over from previous generations.   

By the time the fourth decade rolls around, we’re either out there doing stuff with a take charge attitude, or coasting on autopilot,  wondering what’s next, or planning a complete do over.  Somewhere in our chronology, and perhaps more than once,  a cold realization may cross our minds, – is this it?  Do you mean this is as good as it gets?  Have I done all I’m gonna do with my life?  (By the way, am I due for a midlife crisis?  Maybe I should get a Ferrari and liposuction.)

So, today’s my birthday.  Another day, another year.  Am I on auto pilot?  Not quite.  Its time for a fresh start, and I’m gonna do it with a take charge attitude.

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Stuff. Tags: , , .

Sunlight How Ordinary Becomes Great

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Godfrey Jr  |  Friday, March 13, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Birthdays are the milestones of chronological growth, maturity, changeand accomnplishments. Life is a journey that we measure in different ways. Birthdays become increasingly and conciously important as time slips by. First our own then those of others become. Finally, there is an end to them that others observe in remembrance of ours when they have been used up.

    Life is a blank painting. We get to paint it as time elapses. We can be what we want to be. Question is, what do we want to be? Many of us are not quite sure. I know that I am not sure even after all these years. So I do what I am doing at the timne to the best of my ability. Birthdays are punctuations along the journey.

    Reply
  • 2. MAC  |  Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    I see that your entry is talking about your birthday so I just want to say “Happy Birthday!”

    Reply
  • 3. erasundar1  |  Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Thanks for the birthday greetings, Mac

    Reply
  • 4. erasundar1  |  Thursday, March 19, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Godfrey,
    Thanks for showing me another way to look at it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Keep Me Posted

Email me when there is a new post on Today's Thought.

Subscribe

When Did I Blog?

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Newsfeed Me?

Global Impact?

free counters

My Visitors

Feeds

Awards

friends award makes my heart smile
wordpress visitors

